Abadhita: With no contradiction of the probandum
Abadhitavisayatva: Absence of contradiction of the probandum
Abhavya: One who is incapable of attaining moksa
Abhedavrtti: Identifying by transference of epithet
Abhedopacara: Making identical aspect predominant
Abhigraha: Resolution
Abhikshna-Jnanopayoga: Ceaseless pursuit of right knowledge.
Abhipsita: Desirable
Abhiseka: Anointing ceremony
Abhyasta: Habituated
Abhyuhana: Process of understanding
Abrahma: Unchastity.
Abrahma-varjana: Abandonment of all incontinence
Acaksurdarsana: Perception by means of the senses other than visual
Acara: Conduct
Acarya: Head of a mendicant group; spiritual leader; monk-scholar
Achakshu-darshanavarana: Non-Ocular-Conation-Obscuring
Acharya-Bhakti: Devotion to Acharyas or Heads of the Orders of Saints.
Achetanatva: Unconsciousness
Adama-nirjara: Equanimous submission to the fruition of karma
Adana-niksepana-samiti: Care in the picking up and putting down of any object
Adattadana-virati: Not taking anything which has not been given; identical to asteya-vrata
Adeya: Impressive; appearance such as may affect others.
Adharma: Principle of Rest
Adharma-dravya: The principle of rest
Adhigama: preaching of another.
Adhigamaja: Grahita
Adhikarana: Dependance
Adhikaraniki-kriya: having weapons of hurtfulness.
Adho-loka: The lower world; the home of infernal beings
Adhyavasaya: Determinate cognition
Adhyayana: Lecture
Advaita: Non-dual; cap., the monistic school of Vedanta
Agama: Scripture; canonical literature
Verbal testimony
Agamika: Non-repetitive
Agari: House-holders(laymen).
Aghatiya: Karamas that generate embodiment and particular conditions thereof
Aghatiya: Non-Destructive karmas
Agni: Fire
Agurulaghu: Nor heavy-light; neither too heavy to move, nor too light to have stability.
Agurulaghutva: Capacity by which one attribute or substance does not become another and the substance does not lose the attributes whose grouping forms the substance itself.
The quality of constancy in space-points
Ahampratyaya: Self-awareness
Ahara Agrahya-Vargana: Assimilation-unrecievable-molecule
Ahara-Vargana: Assimilation-molecule for food
Aharaka: Assimilative
The spiritual man-like emanation from the head of a saint in doubt, in the sixth spiritual stage.
Aharaka mishra: Assimitative with physical.
Aharaparyapti: Taking of morsels of food
Aharyaprasanjana: Determinate concomitant
Aharyaropa: Determinate concomitant
Ahavaniya-agni: One of the sacred fires in the Hindu srauta ritual
Ahimsa: Nonharming
Ahimsavrata: Refraining from harming
Ailaka: The highest state of a Digambara layman, wherein he retains only one piece of clothing
Ajinana: Ignorance
Ajiva: Insentient
Which is not soul
Ajna-vyapadiki-kriya: Misinterpreting the scriptural injunctions, which we do not want to follow.
Ajnana: Ignorance–nivartaka–remover
Wrong belief caused by ignorance. Indiscrimination of good and bad.
Ajnanavada: Agnosticism
Ajnanika: Agnostic. Everything is not knowable. This is one of the general attributes of all substances.
Ajnavicaya: Contemplation on the teachings of Jina
Akama-nirjara: Equanimous submission to the fruition of karma.
Akasa: Space
Akasha: Space
Akashaya: Quasi-passions; slight or minor passions.
Akincitkara: Immaterial
Akrandana: weeping
Akriyavada: Doctrine of non-action
Akriyavadi: Opposite of Kriyavadi, e.g., the soul does nothing. This undermines all truth.
Aksa: An organ of sense
Aksara: Alphabet
Aksata: Uncooked rice
Aksaya-trtiya: The “immortal third,” a Jaina holiday
Alarikara: Ornamentation
Alocana: Critical self-examination
Intuitional cognition
Aloka: Non-Universe
Aloka-akasa: Totally empty space
Alokitapana-bhojana: Thoroughly seeing to one’s food and drink.
Amanaska: Without mind
Amari: Prohibition of animal sacrifice
Amla: Acid.
Amsavatara: Minor incarnation of Visnu
Amudha drishtitva: Free from superstitious belief.
Amudhadrsti: Freedom from delusory notions
Amurtatva: Along with Achetanatva, is common to Space, Motion, Rest and Time.
Along with Chetanatva, is a common attributes of the class of substance,
Anabhimata: Undesirable
Anabhoga: putting down a thing where it ought not to be put.
Anabhoga-kriya: indifference in dropping things or throwing oneself down upon the earth, i.e. without seeing whether it is swept or not.
Anabhyupagata: Unproved
Anadeya: Non-impressive; dull appearance.
Anadhyavasaya: Indecision
Anadhyavasita: Neither known
Anadi: Having no beginning
Anadinidhana: Without beginning and without end
Anagara: House-less(ascetics).
Anagara-dharma: Mendicant discipline
Anaikantika: Inconclusive
Anaikantikatva: Inconclusiveness
Anakanksha-kriya: Disrespect to scriptural injunctions out of vice or laziness.
Anakaropayoga: Formless conscious activity
Anaksara: Non-alphabet
Anangapravista: Main scriptions
Ananta-sukha: Infinite bliss
Anantadharma: Infinite aspects
Anantajnana: Infinite knowledge; a synonym for kevalajnana
Anantanu-Vargana: Infinite-atoms-molecule
Anantanubandhi: Error feeding
Right-belief preventing-passions.
Anantanubandhi-kasaya: Passions that “Pursue from the limitless past,” preventing the attainment of samyak-darsana
Anantaviryatva: Infinite energy
Ananugamika: Non-following
Ananvaya: Lacking in positive concomitance
Anarpitabhasa: False unimplied point of view
Anarpitanaya: Unimplied view-point
Anartha danda-vrata: Taking a vow not to commit purposeless sin
Anarthadandavrata: Refraining from the five minor types of evil activity
Anasana: Fasting
Anashana: Fasting–external austerity.
Anataraya: Obstructive.
Anavastha: Regressus ad infinitum
Anekantavada: The doctrine of manifold aspects
Anekatva: Multiplicity
Anga: Limb; cap., a group of twelve Jaina canonical texts
Angabahya: The subsidiary canon
Angapuja: Veneration of the limbs of the lord
Angopanga: Limbs; limbs and minor limbs.
Anigraha: Free from defect
Anindriyaja: Non-sensuous, not caused by senses
Anirakrta: Not refuted
Anisrita: Independent
Anitya: Impermanent
Anitya anupreksha: Everything is subject to change or transitory.
Anityavada: Noneternalism
Anivartin: That state from which there is no returning
Anivrtti-karana: The process of suppressing certain mohaniya karmas
Anrita: Falsehood.
Antar-muhurta: A period of up to forty-eight minutes
Antara-bhava: The state of existence between death and rebirth
Antaratman: The state of perceiving the self within
Antaraya: inflow of obstructive karma
Antaraya-karma: Karma that restricts the energy-quality of the soul
Antarjalpa: Inward repetition
Antarmuhurtta: For a moment
Antarmuhurttika: A period of less than forty-eight minutes
Antarvyapti: Internal concomitance
Antyesti-kriya: Funeral rites
Anu: Atom; an indivisible particle of matter
Anu Vargana: Atom
Anu-Vratas: Five minor vows.
Anubhaga: intensity of fruition
Anubhava: Experience
Retribution of a karma; intensity
Anubhaya-mana: Neither true nor false.
Anubhaya-vachana: Neither true or false.
Anubhuta: Cognised, felt
Anugamika (Avadhijnana): Following
Anugamin: Following
Anukampa: Compassion
Anumana: Inference
Anumanika: Inferential
Anumati-tyaga: Preparatory to the monk’s life. Enjoins a gradual giving up of the world and retiring into some very quiet place to aquire the knowledge of truth and ultimately to become fit to be a teacher of the path to Liberation.
Anumatityaga-pratima: The tenth stage in which a layman refrains from all household activities
Anumiti: Inference
Anupalambha: Non-observation
Anupatta: Matter which is not taken in by the soul.
Anupayoga: Not in actual use
Anupayukta: Without attention
Anupreksa: Reflection, twelve kinds
Anupreksha: Meditation.
Anupurvi: Migratory form; the power of retaining the form of the last incarnation during transmigration, i.e., in the passage from one to another condition of existence.