E Numbers

The Vegetarian Society UK http://www.vegsoc.org

E Numbers – from The Vegetarian Autumn 1994

Of the hundreds of E numbers and numbered additives there are very few which can never be made in a manner suitable for vegetarians – only two in fact E120 Cochineal (a red colouring) which is extracted from the carcass of the female of a breed of cactus-feeding scale insect; and E542 Edible Bone Phosphate (an anti-caking agent and mineral supplement supplying calcium and phosphorus).

However there are 47 others to look out for which may be vegetarian or not depending on their method of production – for example, many are fat based so can be made from either animal or non-animal fat. The following may all be of animal origin and therefore unsuitable for vegetarians. Where any of these additives appear on the ingredients listing of a product approved by The Vegetarian Society you can be sure that we have carefully checked the origin of the additive to ascertain its suitability for vegetarians.


    • E153 E473
    • E161(g) E474
    • E252 E475
    • E270 E476
    • E322 E477
    • E325 E478
    • E326 E479(b)
    • E327 E481
    • E422 E482
    • E430 E483
    • E431 E491
    • E432 E492
    • E433 E493
    • E434 E494
    • E435 E495
    • E436 E570
    • E470(a) E572
    • E470(b) E585
    • E471 E631
    • E472(a) E635
    • E472(b) E640
    • E472(c) E920
    • E472(d)
    • E472(e)
    • E472(f)

Click on the links below to know the meaning of E-Number which is written in small letter on all the packaged food items you get in the market.

Page 1
Page 2
Page 3
Page 4

E-Number details by Muni Shri Achalsagar Ji Maharaj desciple of Aacharya Shri Vidyasagar Ji Maharaj, Chandragiri, Dongargarh

Page 1
Page 2
Page 3
Page 4
Page 5
Page 6
Page 7
Page 8
Page 9
Page 10
Page 11