Appendix – Summary of Swetambar Jain Agams

By Pravin K. Shah
Jain Study Center of North Carolina

Appendix – Summary of Swetambar Jain Agams


The scriptures, which describe independent or miscellaneous subjects of the Jain religion, are known as Prakirna‑sutra.

  1. Chatuh Sharana: *

    This agam contains prayers to the four benevolent beings:Arihant ‑ God in the form of perfect human being

    Siddha ‑ God in the form of pure consciousness

    Sadhu – Ascetics

    Dharma ‑ Religion

  2. Aatur Pratyakhyana (Aayur‑Pachakhana): *

    This agam explains differences in the death of children, youths, adults, and old people. It also describes the types of vows a wise person should take during various states of illness and how he should beg the pardon of all living beings in the universe.

  3. Bhakti Parijna (Bhatta‑parinna): *

    This agam describes the process of fasting and how one should reflect at the time of death.

  4. Sanstaraka (Santhara): *

    This agam describes the process of dying by one’s own desire and its glory.

  5. Tandulavaitalika: *

    This agam describes the state of pregnancy and provides knowledge about the human body.

  6. Chandra‑Vedhyaka: *

    This agam describes the method of concentrated meditation (Dhyana) that one should observe through the description of Radhavedha.

  7. Devendra‑Stava: *

    This agam describes the names, positions, and residences of Devas (angels) that live in heaven. It also provides a description of the moon, sun, planets, and stars.

  8. Ganita Vidya: *

    This agam describes palmistry and how it is used to predict the future (Nimitta).

  9. Mahapratyakhyana: *

    This agam explains how to completely give up the worst sins and how to repent these sins.

  10. Veerastava: *

    This agam is considered lost. However, it appears from literature referencing this agam that it contained prayers of Lord Mahavir.

Note: * These 13 Agams are not recognized by the Sthanakvasi and Terapanthi Jain sects.