Appendix – Summary of Swetambar Jain Agams

By Pravin K. Shah
Jain Study Center of North Carolina

Appendix – Summary of Swetambar Jain Agams

The scriptures, which are essential for monks and nuns to study in the early stages of their ascetic life, are called Mool‑sutras.

1. Avashyaka Sutra:
The daily rituals or routines, which it is necessary to perform during the day and night for the purification of soul, are called Avashyaka. A description of the six routines (Avashyakas) is explained in this agam. The six routines are; Samayika, Chaturvinshatistava, Vandanaka, Pratikramana, Kayotsarga, and Pratyakhyana.

2. Dasha Vaikalika Sutra
This agam briefly describes and explains the conduct of ascetic life.

3. Uttaradhyayana Sutra
This agam has the same place in Jain literature as the Dhammapada in Buddhism and the Geeta in the Hindu religion. It contains preaching regarding religious principles and practices, and many stories, dialogues, and examples based on such principles and practices.

4. Ogha Niryukti or Pinda Niryukti Sutra: *
This agam explains certain rules and procedures for monks with respect to travelling, staying, and accepting food and other necessities from lay people.