Chapter-3 : by Acharya Mahapragya

Jain Vishva Bharati


The Science of Living is a training course based on scientific principles. It comprises various branches of learning drawn from both-modern sciences and ancient sciences as well as humanities. The main emphasis is on practical training and regular practice. The theoretical studies, however, are also included in the syllabi, mainly in order to comprehend the fundamental theories and hypotheses made use of in the practical exercises-

The following branches of learning are the main constituents of the syllabus :

A. Modern Sciences

1. Anatomy (Human body)

2. Physiology (Human body)

3. Endocrinology

4. Neurology

5. Psychology (including Physiological Psychology)

6. Parapsychology (E.S.P. etc.)

7. Ecology

8. Biology (including Biophysics, Biochemistry)

9. Dietetics

10. Health Sciences

11. Suggestology

12. Magneto-therapy

13. Psychotherapy

14. Psychiatry

B. Humanities & Ancient Sciences

1. Philosophy

2. Education (mainly value-education)

3. Religion (comparative)

4. Yoga (theoretical & practical)

5. Peace-research

6. Non-violence

7. Meditation (theoretical & practical)

8. Sociology

9. Training in non-violence for conflict-resolution

10. Karma-shastra (Science of karma)

11. Ayurveda, Nature-cure, Acupuncture, Acupressure and other therapies (other than Allopathic system)

12. Prana-Vigyan

13. Mantra-Vigyan

14. Healing techniques

15. Spiritualist Sciences for ultimate intrinsic transformation.