The Vegetarian Society UK http://www.vegsoc.org/Food/enumbers.html
E Numbers - from The Vegetarian Autumn 1994
Of the hundreds of E numbers and numbered additives there are very few which can never be made in a manner suitable for vegetarians - only two in fact E120 Cochineal (a red colouring) which is extracted from the carcass of the female of a breed of cactus-feeding scale insect; and E542 Edible Bone Phosphate (an anti-caking agent and mineral supplement supplying calcium and phosphorus).
However there are 47 others to look out for which may be vegetarian or not depending on their method of production - for example, many are fat based so can be made from either animal or non-animal fat. The following may all be of animal origin and therefore unsuitable for vegetarians. Where any of these additives appear on the ingredients listing of a product approved by The Vegetarian Society you can be sure that we have carefully checked the origin of the additive to ascertain its suitability for vegetarians.
Click on the links below to know the meaning of E-Number which is written in small letter on all the packaged food items you get in the market.
E-Number details by Muni Shri Achalsagar Ji Maharaj desciple of Aacharya Shri Vidyasagar Ji Maharaj, Chandragiri, Dongargarh