Jainworld
Jain World
Sub-Categories of Jain Food Recipes
Jain Food
Meat
Alcohol
  Silver Foil
  Cheese
  List of Foods that are not Jain
  New Ingredients
  Vegetarian Gelling Agents
  Reading Labels
  Soft Drinks and Gelatine
  Ice Cream
  Chocolate
  E-Numbers
  Devon Probe Casts Doubt On Vegetarian Food Claims
  Glossary: Animal Ingredients and their Alternatives
  Vegetarian Society Information Sheet On Clothing
  Footwear and Alternatives to Leather
  Cruelty Free Cosmetics & Toiletries from "The Vegetarian"

ALCOHOL

ALCOHOL IS NOT VEGETARIAN

Alcohol, Beer, Ale, and Wines are made with:

Fish glue, Pepsin, Peptone, Lactic acid, Lactose, Glycerine, Gelatine, Egg white, Albumin, Isinglass lactic acid, and / or malo-lactic bacteria.

Some years ago The Center for Science in the Public Interest compiled a list of well over a hundred additives permissible in various alcoholic beverages. These ingredients were not required to be declared on the label. Strictly from a vegetarian standpoint, some are obviously animal, some are suspect, and some can be made either from animal or other sources.

These additives include fish glue, pepsin (stomach extract), peptone (product of pepsin acting on albumin), lactic acid, lactose, glycerine, and gelatine for beer and/or ale. Wines fare no better, with gelatine, egg white or albumin from egg white, isinglass (sturgeon's bladder), lactic acid, and Malo-lactic bacteria.

The other additives include ingredients such as enzymes to convert starch into sugar; clarifying, chill-proofing, foam stabilising and anti-gushing agents; antioxidant; anti-microbial preservative; artificial colours; plus of course natural and artificial flavours. Who needs them?

Finally, Alcohol results in the death of innumerable Jivas but being intoxicating, it also destroys the power of discrimination, creates delusion in wisdom, harms health and can bring about an end to family happiness and tranquillity.